Diawa DX Swimbait Rods?

raybass

Well I'm not good at reviews and this is my first dedicated swimbait rod. But I did fish it today, my first casts were in the dark with a 9" slammer. It handles the slammer and 8" Huddleston very well, easily IMHO. I bought an XH rated at 3-10 Oz's. It may very well handle 10 oz baits. It felt like the Hudd and slammer were on the lower end of what it could handle. The rod was light, casts were long and it feels good to me. I don't think for the price you could go wrong buying one. Getting used to the long handle wasn't bad either. At the end of my trip I still felt good, my last time throwing the slammer and Hudd on a flipping stick my shoulder was killing me. Lesson learned.

I think it was fairly sensitive for the price point, I sure knew when I got the bite on the slammer, I could feel the fish which caused me to jerk a little too soon. The blowup didn't help either. I'm running mono on it (20# Big game) so something very subtle may be hard to detect. After throwing for a while I did spool up some 25# Big Game to use. Overall I think its a decent rod. Of course more money will get you better. It'll be hard to beat in the lower price bracket.