Soft Plastic Swimbaits

VanBass1707

Hi Guys

Hope you all well? I wanted to ask, what would be your go to soft plastic swimbaits, size, shape, make and what do you think makes a good soft plastic swimbait? If you have pics of your favourite soft palstic swimbaits, please post them and tell me what you like most about that bait? Im fairly new to the swimbait thing so I would just like to get everyones opinion.

Thanks Guys

I think he means he hasn't found a go to soft bait, and I'm in the same boat right now. All my confidence is in hard baits. Lots of guys love the huddlestons though!

Correct.  I've caught fish on those little keitechs and other similar boot tail style lures but I don't really consider those swimbaits.   

I fish hard swimbaits probably 85-90% of the time, but when I do fish soft its generally Hudd 8 or 68, Weedless Rising Son, Realprey shiner or alewife, or the Mattlures gill with the new tail.  The new tail design on the Malltlures gill is a big improvement over the older boot tail.  As the temperatures drop my use of softballs goes up.

I fish hard swimbaits probably 85-90% of the time, but when I do fish soft its generally Hudd 8 or 68, Weedless Rising Son, Realprey shiner or alewife, or the Mattlures gill with the new tail.  The new tail design on the Malltlures gill is a big improvement over the older boot tail.  As the temperatures drop my use of softballs goes up.

Great baits mentioned right here. I've also done well with the 7" Rago BVD in the light Hitch color. 

Tough to beat realprey baits. Shiner and the 5" perch are great. A lot of guys like the alewife but I haven't had as much success with it. They are made of silicone as opposed to soft plastic so they don't warp in a tackle box. They may a little but I've just stretched them out and they've been fine.

Matt Allen swears by the jsj hitch six. Bait has very little representation on this forum though. I don't throw the ones I have as often as I should.