Need opinions on rods

Bassmaster153

I am looking at 4 rods at an entry level price and I would like some info on them 1. Abu Garcia Veritas Toro 2. Diawa DX 3. iRod Genesis 4. Okuma Guide Select

Can these rods throw the baits they are advertised to throw and are the power and action ratings on the rod accurate? Also I am worried with the iRod having 17 and 18 inch grips that it may be harder to cast than other rods???

This is actually something I know a fair amount about as I'm very new to tossing the big stuff. I agonized over this decision for a long while until I finally broke down and bought the Okuma XH so I could at least have a rod that I know can handle an 8 inch hudd.

Perhaps others can chime in but I think the xh is probably closer to a true fast action that it's listed as and the okuma heavy is closer to a medium fast action that it is listed as.

As far as tossing the big stuff and catching fish goes I've caught fish on baits as light as a 1 ounce live target on up to a 68 rof 12 hudd. I have yet to land a fish on an 8 inch hudd but I haven't really spent much time throwing the 8 inch hudd.

Now that I have a little more experience under my belt I can say that I wouldn't want to throw anything lighter than a 6 inch rof 5 hudd. If you want to throw the hudd gill it will frustrate you pretty good, and the northern I caught on the 1 ounce live target was just me not knowing any better than to throw it. 

While I can't speak for dobyns or irod I do know that Okuma has a solid warranty from all the research I've done and I've also read very few reviews of it breaking down. In fact the guide series only has one review on TW and that alone should tell you something. Not enough people have had one go bad on them.