Wits end with losing fish

FishEastCarolina

So I am a novice big bait fisherman and have been trying g to throw them more and more. I have a local pond that I have gotten some nice bites on a swim jig which keyed me into a large fish I lost a few weeks ago. I went out tonight and was tossing a 68 special top hook. I have tossed this bait here before with one bite right at the bank almost at my rod tip. Just nipped the tail and swam off.

Tonight once again I get a big bite prob ten feet from me on tha bank , I swing and hook up and chaos issues . Decent fish and he goes ballistic , I start reeling and backing up to drag him and he head shakes, I make up some ground and he jumps and a shakes second time just short of the bank and comes off in a few inches of water. I lost the fish the other day on a swimjig also to jumps near the bank. I am beyond frustrated. First that all my big bait bites outside of the rat and shellcracker come at my feet almost and I can’t seem to keep those fish pinned.

Is this from a bad Hook set or hook penetration?

Do I need to loosen my drag with the 65 pound braid for these close encounters?

Could a Mono leader help with the shock absorbing when up close?

To top it all off after a few more casts tonight a snapping turtle bit the tail off my Huddleston. Rant over , anger has subsided after smashing a taco salad. I will keep grinding but would love some advice

Using braid you should have gotten a good hook set especially been that close. When the fish comes up do you stop reeling ? Even for a half a second?

May just be bad luck, and you may be letting your nerves get the best of you. Keep at it, next hook up try to relax and always keep tension on the fish.

Good luck

stick your rod in the water or very low to the ground to prevent them from jumping. every time a big fish jumps their percentage of getting off goes really high. or sometimes they just get away, like Brian said don't stop reeling.

This^^