Advice for balancing a wooden topwater

NEbucketmouth19

Hi guys, this is my first time attempting to make a lure. I got a piece of basswood last year and only now cut it up and sanded it down to a profile. My main goal with this one is just to learn how to balance it and get it to sit right in the water, I don't plan on adding many details or going in depth with paint schemes. My main question is once you've got it roughly where you want it in terms of shape, is there any precautions you have to take when balancing it in actual water, will the lure absorb any to the point it will throw off balancing, or is it fine to just let it dry for a while before sealing it? And I was also wondering what you recommended both to seal the wood as well as your choice of clear coat? I will most likely just go straight black or white with this one, or maybe even keep the natural wood not sure yet. Any tips are more than welcome, I am VERY new to this so any advice will be new knowledge to me. Thanks!  

post-28096-0-18892700-1511384921_thumb.jpg

i'm not a professional builder by any means ...iv'e been at it for over 10 years building primarily for myself & friends...that being said, my first question is this a Punker style bait ? if so you want the tail end submerged ...if you have a punker or spook check how they sit in the water...when working on ballast you also want the hooks/split rings/& any other paraphernalia attached or held in place by tape or rubber bands...iv'e pre-sealed with zinsser shellac to do my water tests (prior to painting or sealing with epoxy allow ample drying time!!!)...this may sound somewhat confusing to a first timer...my REAL Advice would be to hit up tackleunderground & use their search function to answer your questions...that's where most builders start...in addition they have a great community that is more than willing to help..Michel

Go Fish!!!