Teeny Glide

Hoosier_Hawgz

So I drew most of my inspiration for this one from one of Marling Baits’ most recent videos. I realized that I have a hole in my tackle box that would be easy for me to fill, that being an ultralight glide bait that I could throw with a spinning rod. 

So with a chunk of off-cut Poplar I drew up some lines and got to sanding with the Dremel. The pictures below are where the bait is at now, and will be updating this thread as I continue to work on it. 

If anybody has any ideas/thoughts to implement in this bait I would love to hear them as the build goes on! 

IMG_5714.jpeg

IMG_5713.jpeg

IMG_5715.jpeg

I'm still pretty new to the bog bait world, and have spent a lot of time in the ultralight world. 2 of the first glides I made were under 2 inches, so seeing an "ultralight" that's 5 inches is a perspective shift! 

Great start though! Are you planning to add a joint or leave it solid body?

17 hours ago, Big Epp said:

I'm still pretty new to the bog bait world, and have spent a lot of time in the ultralight world. 2 of the first glides I made were under 2 inches, so seeing an "ultralight" that's 5 inches is a perspective shift! 

Great start though! Are you planning to add a joint or leave it solid body?

Oh man I never thought about it from that point of view. Haha I can imagine that it is a bit of a culture shock to see a 5” “ultralight”.  

And thank you for the kind words! I will be adding a joint. As a matter of fact I kind of put the cart before the horse and cut the joint before I even started shaping the body, but with a little super glue and some pressure it’s right as rain! 

Just a small update- 

I’ve got the body shaped just about how I want it. It’s probably 95% of the way there with some small spots here or there to knock down. 

Next up I’m going to be working on the face/gill details, and I think I’ll be using a bigeye chub for reference. The profile of this thing has me excited already! 

IMG_5750.jpeg

IMG_5749.jpeg