1/2 Marathon

JDHanson79

So this Saturday is the 13th annual MCAS Cherry point 1/2 Marathon. I have never ran one so I decided to get after it. I had started a training schedule about 7 weeks back that lasted about four weeks. I am a martial arts instructor for the Marine Corps and have spent the last four week teaching. Never really took the time to get out and run like I should have. Got out yesterday and ran 7 miles just at an hour. My goal is to run the 1/2 in two hours or less. Just wanted to see if there is any one else here that has ran a 1/2 marathon before, any tips?

Joshua

take aspirin before the run. Keeps inflamation of the joints down.

Pace yourself.....try and stick to your set pace for the first half of the race especially. Ie 8 min mile pace for the first half then the back half run at the pace you feel is right

Obviously lots of water....big carb meal a day or 2 before the race

Hope these help....btw I am no pro

take aspirin before the run. Keeps inflamation of the joints down.

Pace yourself.....try and stick to your set pace for the first half of the race especially. Ie 8 min mile pace for the first half then the back half run at the pace you feel is right

Obviously lots of water....big carb meal a day or 2 before the race

Hope these help....btw I am no pro

I would skip the aspirin, simply because you should never try something new on race day.

Carb meals will help but I wouldn't get crazy crushing pasta. I don't think you really need to "carb load" for a half. Eat what you normally would, unless it's fast food, which you shouldn't be eating anyway. A nice baked potato or a bowl of pasta the night before and a bottle of gatorade the morning of the race should suffice.

Water, gatorade... stay hydrated, but again, don't get crazy.