A Rig making

monkeyonthemoon

Hello there SU,

I am looking to start making A rigs for striper here in CA. I have no experience making baits but figured that I would give this a try. At this point I think my biggest question is what kind of wire to use for the arms and how to afix them together. I am using the G Funk A Rig as inspiration and would rather not make a lead head to hold the wires together. Does anyone have any advice for how to get started? Any things to watch out for, common mistakes, tools or other advice would be appreciated. 

The size of wire is a good starting point, it will dictate durability of the lure. Things to consider but not limited to

1. species of fish

2. Number of arms

3. weight of overall bait

4. Number of legal hooks for your area.

The sky is the limit but if you can answer exacts of above.... people here can help out better. 

My goal is to mostly target bigger stripers 10lbs+. I think I’ll stick with a 5 arm bc in CA you can only have 3 hooks. Weight isn’t very important but I’ll probably be using 4-5” baits with 1/8-3/8oz heads depending on how deep I’m going to be fishing. 

So far I’ve been looking at using some single strand leader wire rated for 500lbs at 0.05” diameter. I’m not sure if that’s way overkill but seems like it could be pretty durable and hold its shape.

I know you're after stripers so not sure how relevant this info will be but he goes...

I've had a number of different A-rigs over the years but the best swimming one was a homemade one from a guy in my area. It was made with piano wire.  No idea of the lb strength or diameter and I believe it was a stranded wire.  I'll be the first to admit the wire was not strong enough to be durable over the long run. But in the short term it was the best action wise of any I've ever seen.