Swimbait Help

djpeterbilt

I’m new to fishing swimbaits. I need some tips and tricks, I don’t want to spend a lot of money on baits. Right now other than some soft plastics swimbaits I went with Academy’s H2O Express’s Sexy Shad and Bluegill.

So far the only luck I’ve had is with the Sexy Shad and it has been in a small pond. I would think that in a pond with lots of Sunfish that the Bluegill would work but I have had no luck. The Sexy Shad however has worked in that pond go figure, and I seriously doubt there are shad in the pond. Another factor each time I’ve caught fish on the swimbait it has been over a hundred degrees outside.

I’ve tried at 2 tournaments I fish as well. On large bodies of water filled with shad I have had no luck. Saturday night I fished a tournament and the lake is filled with 8 plus lbs bass. The winner of the tournament had 13 lbs on 2 fish it was 10lbs and 2 place 1 fish 9lbs. I fished it in weeds off rocky points and deep water bluffs. Then at a local lake I fish it near rip rap.

Please help me.

Don't be in a huge hurry to move to hard baits. Soft baits can be very effective and are a great way to learn the fundamentals. In fact, I still throw a soft bait most of the time.

In the summer, one of the most effective swimbaits you can throw is the 3:16 Rising Son. Start with the smaller size and, if your lakes are like ours here in TX, get the top hook version. I use two colors -- the blue shad and the sunfish. Start by slow rolling it and, if that doesn't work, vary the retrieve to cover the mid and upper water column.

Since you have a lot of shad in your area, another bait I would recommend is the Huddleston weedless shad. The shad are still pretty small this time of year so the size will match the fish schooling in your area. The Huddleston grass minnow also works well. They are both fairly small baits, but that means they can be thrown with regular bass gear and don't require a special rod.