Lost a big one and want to know why!

Aconway94

So I am still fairly new to this whole swimbait thing so I am looking for some advice. I was throwing my new Savage gear shine glide (the biggest one) to test the swim. As I was working it I felt the infamous tick of the line and set the hook (it was a sweep hook set and I thought I set hard enough). I started to grind on the reel and stated to feel the head shakes. The fish came up to the surface and shakes her head and spits the bait. It was the first time she jumped. It was a very nice fish for NH (5 plus) and I want to know what you guys think I did wrong so I can learn. Or was it just that the fish came off? Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks everyone. 

I'm not familiar with that rod, how would you describe the action? Keeping the fish down is probably the most immediate thing you can change but if you are using a pool cue you WILL lose fish to head shakes if they come up, especially with heavy treble baits. If it loads up well then the rod probably isn't to blame, just make sure to keep tension at all times, and if they come up to shake keep the rod tip down and keep steady pressure. 

Also if you feel like you played the fish well and your gear is adequate, don't lose sleep over it. I lost what I'm fairly confident was my PB on a slammer in the fall and I wouldn't change a thing about how I fought the fish. It just happens sometimes, they get off. You can't always control how well they get hooked and sometimes (as I believe was the case with my fish) they get hooked outside the mouth and then you are lucky to land them.

Thanks for the responses everyone. In terms of the rod, it's the bass pro shop basic rod. I was getting into swimbaits and it was cheap second hand. It does the trick and has a fairly nice tip. I don't think it was the rod because I have caught plenty of other fish on the rod with trebles. I will try to keep the fishes head down next time and see if that helps!