JKLym

I am very new to Swimbait Underground and swimbait making in general, and was wondering if anybody could lend some tips on casting resin baits.  I have Alumalite high strength 2 for the mold and am familiar with Rtv silicone and was wondering if anybody could point me in the right direction for a mixture of micro balloons  to resin and where to pour the lead.  

Thanks, 

John 

Screenshot 2020-01-22 at 8.14.33 PM.png

I've made a few glide baits now but only one of them out of resin. From what i've tested, 9% MB will get you real close to a usable buoyancy. So if your mixing a total of 48g resin (both A and B, ) add 4.32g of MB. I'm sure there's better mixes out there and it isnt exactly what i do but it's where i started. As for weight, you want both sections to sink at an equal rate, when they are separated from each other. i try to keep a majority of the weight as close to the joint as possible while still letting both halves sink level.

There are others here with a whole lot more experience on this subject so maybe they will chime in but this is what I've gathered so far. Good luck and keep up the good work! Your'e off to a great start. 

I've been working with resin baits for a good number of years now. Not am expert yet by any means, but at least I've learned a lot from my mistakes haha